Beth Ditto Suffers From Word Vomit

Well this came out of nowhere.

Beth Ditto, obviously hungry for some press for her new album, slammed Katy Perry recently stating: “I hate Katy Perry!  She’s offensive to gay culture.  I’m so offended. She’s just riding on the backs of our culture, without having to pay any of the dues  and not actually being a lesbian or anything at all.  She’s not on the cover of a f*cking gay magazine.”

Snap! Katy Perry’s response?  “I heard that Beth said something about me. I don’t want to get into a slinging war with anybody so I don’t want to say anything bad about her. Personally, I’m not impressed. I’ve learned in the past year that one artist should never insult another artist’s music – it’s tacky, and it always comes back to bite me on the ass!”

Beth didn’t waste any time at all responding with yet another ridiculous statement, further inserting foot in mouth:

“Honestly, I could care less if Katy Perry’s impressed with me. …As a gay person, it’s like, ‘Oh, of course this straight person singing about kissing a girl goes straight to Top 40 and people buy this record. Who can give a fuck about real gay people?’ That’s what’s really painful about the whole thing. That’s what makes me laugh about ‘I’m not impressed.’ It’s like, ‘Oh, that’s what you think? Of course, because you never thought about what a real gay person feels, and the impact that a song like that has on the gay world in a time of crucial civil rights.’ That’s just one of the examples of what the mainstream is thinking about queer culture, when actually, we are completely fighting for our rights right now.”

Katy Perry doesn’t know what it feels like to be a gay person?? And she’s a straight girl who is riding on the gay people’s (read: Beth’s) coattails to get famous?!?!  Beth, sweetie, Katy is best friends with PEREZ HILTON who believes he’s THE MARTIN LUTHER KING OF THE GAY RIGHTS MOVEMENT.   Not to mention she says that she LIKED kissing a girl in her song.  I’m pretty sure she has a very good understanding of gay people.  Them’s fightin’ words, girl!

Since, obviously, this was meant to get Beth press, I’m not giving her any.  Instead, check out Katy Perry’s video for “Waking up in Vegas” because she actaully has some class!

1 Comment

  1. Hey hey!

    I Kissed A Girl comes off to me as a song about when a straight girl is having fun and ends up kissing another girl. It happens.

    I am a bigger Beth fan, but I’m not really taking sides. Beth is being super crazy over this.

    The only reason I Kissed A Girl annoys me is because I have a lesbian friend who thought the song was her anthem and that no straight girls could like it, when in fact it is about a straight girl.

    Lame!

    But hey, the last time Beth Ditto went on a rant like this, it was a against Topshop for making their clothes too small. Now their parent company is letting her design her own plus-sized clothing line.

    But still, I don’t see how this rant will work out in her favor.

    -Megtacular


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

